Saturday, November 18, 2017

Member Login Join Free Today

The Cambridge Art Academy Blog Archive | Back



Viewing All Blogs

  

 

Low tide at Tollesbury, Essex, UK - a sketch in pen and crayon
The pen and crayon sketch at low tide at Tollesbury in Essex tries to catch the cold windy morning at Easter in 2014
Posted: Monday 5th May 2014, 5:26:53

Boatyard at West Mersea, Essex - pastel painting on location
a pastel painting at a boatyard at west Mersea, heavily edited in photoshop
Posted: Wednesday 30th April 2014, 15:45:27

Houseboat at Mersea Island - in pastels
A small pastel paint done on location at Mersea Island of a houseboat
Posted: Saturday 26th April 2014, 14:06:40

Successful charity auction in Oxford
Two of Noel Garner's paintings sold at charity auction.
Posted: Sunday 2nd March 2014, 15:40:11

Unofficial pop-up gallery at Anglesea Abbey, Cambridge
So I set up my own one-picture gallery at Anglesea Abbey. I won't tell if you don't.
Posted: Saturday 1st February 2014, 15:32:24

Dutch landscape in oils - in the style of Roos Schuring
This is small plein air oil sketch of a Dutch landscape
Posted: Sunday 5th January 2014, 15:05:09

St Mary's Buildings, Bath, painted on location in pastels
A painting in soft pastels of St. Mary's Buildings - a hidden gem in Bath, UK
Posted: Monday 30th December 2013, 7:31:52

St Mary's Buildings, Bath painted plein air in pastels
A reprise of a painting I last did here 25 years ago at St Mary's Buildings, Bath, UK, only this time plein air in pastels
Posted: Saturday 28th December 2013, 11:25:19

Christmas Day pastel sketch at Cold Ashton, Bath
This is a small pastel sketch on Christmas morning 2013
Posted: Wednesday 25th December 2013, 15:41:00

River Stour in Constable country - painted in oil pastels
This oil pastel was painted in oil pastels by the River Stour in the village of Nayland - all very much the area where John Constable used to paint the Suffolk landscape
Posted: Sunday 22nd December 2013, 17:40:20

Quick portraits in pastel and conte crayon
Seven quick portraits of children done in quick succession using pastels and conte crayon
Posted: Sunday 8th December 2013, 17:26:08

Polkerris harbour Cornwall sketched in soft pastels
A late summer sketch done on location in pastels at Polkerris harbour in Cornwall
Posted: Friday 29th November 2013, 11:44:37

Flowers in the nursery painted in pastels
Late summer dahlias and other nursery flowers painted in pastels during a visit to Cornwall
Posted: Wednesday 20th November 2013, 18:11:32

River Blyth, Suffolk in pastels
Marshes on the Blyth estuary near Soutwold, Suffolk, UK
Posted: Thursday 14th November 2013, 16:00:37

Canal boats at Stretham painted in pastels
A fast, first-strike painting in pastels on the River Great Ouse at Stretham in Cambridgeshire.
Posted: Friday 8th November 2013, 8:05:13

Southwold Beach, Suffolk, painted in pastels
A medium sized painting in pastels of the beach at Southwold on the East coast of England.
Posted: Tuesday 29th October 2013, 7:48:14

Summer tour 19 - Bewdley in pastels
Bewdley is a delightful market town to the West of Birmingham, and this was painting in pastels with the River Severn just over my shoulder.
Posted: Monday 28th October 2013, 13:20:42

Summer tour painting 18 - Stevington Mill, in pastels
This is a windmill I painted in watercolour about 25 years ago. The mill at Stevington now has sails on and this time I painted it plein air in pastels
Posted: Saturday 19th October 2013, 18:03:18

Perranporth beach, Cornwall
My first oil painting in a long time - on the beach at Perranporth, Cornwall, England
Posted: Sunday 13th October 2013, 19:04:38

Summer tour painting 17 - Shropshire landscape, in pastels
Continuing my journey through England, Scotland and Northern Ireland, this painting shows a typical rolling Shropshire landscape
Posted: Thursday 10th October 2013, 5:28:03

Summer tour painting 16 - George and Dragon, Shutford, in pastels
Shutford is a small village in the Cotswolds and this painting in pastels was carried out on a sunny summer's afternoon
Posted: Monday 7th October 2013, 9:06:36

Summer tour painting 15 - Kilkeel slipway, Northern Ireland, in pastels
A pastel painting done later afternoon in fishing port of Kilkeel on the East coast of Northern Ireland
Posted: Sunday 6th October 2013, 15:22:56

Summer tour painting 14 - Spelga dam, mountains of Mourne
A pastel sketch done on location in the mountains of Mourne, Northern Ireland, and worked up into a finished painting in the studio
Posted: Sunday 29th September 2013, 9:41:18

Summer tour sketch 13 - Derry city walls
A sketch of Derry city walls in pen and neopastel
Posted: Friday 27th September 2013, 11:59:27

Summer tour painting 12 - Ballintoy harbour Northern Ireland - in pastels
Another painting on my summer tour - this time on the Northern cost of Northern Ireland at Ballintoy. A pastel done late one afternoon
Posted: Wednesday 18th September 2013, 16:51:38

Summer tour painting 11 -Logan harbour, Scotland in pastels
This is a painting in pastels begun on location at Logan in Scotland and finished in the studio
Posted: Sunday 15th September 2013, 5:07:29

Summer tour sketch 10 - Neopastle sketch in Galloway Forest
This is a sketch in the Galloway Forest in Southern Scotland
Posted: Thursday 12th September 2013, 11:49:32

Summer Tour painting 9 - Logan Botanic Gardens in pastels
Logan Botanic Gardens are in the West of Scotland near Stranraer.
Posted: Tuesday 10th September 2013, 17:59:31

Summer Tour sketch 8 - Dumfries
A pencil sketch in the centre of Dumfries
Posted: Saturday 31st August 2013, 17:41:54

Summer Tour painting 7 - Little Langdale English Lake District in pastel
Another in a series of pastel paintings executed on location on a tour of northern england, scotland and northern ireland
Posted: Friday 30th August 2013, 13:04:21


 

[First Page]  |  [Prev]  |  [Next]  |  [Last Page]

Showing page 2 of 16 pages.